“You missed a spot”

So far, a great day 1 here in Perdido Key! I love relaxing on the beach with a good book, listening to the ocean. It’s so, so relaxing.

I started my day with a quick, but effective, treadmill workout that I found on my favorite blog, Peanut Butter Fingers. It incorporates some incline walking with SUPER fast sprints, which left me red-faced and gasping for air! Here’s the workout as seen on Peanut Butter Fingers:

 

20120427-163841.jpg

I was excited, can you tell? A side note: the treadmill I was on seemed a little ancient, and for that reason alone I didn’t go past 9 on the speed! I could just picture it going haywire and chucking me off. Also, does anyone else have a problem with the speed 4.5!? I sure do. It’s too slow to run, and too fast to walk!! But I sucked it up for today :)

20120427-165023.jpg

After my intervals, I was famished. We are staying in a condo, which I totally prefer because you can buy food and whip up your own breakfasts/lunches/snacks whenever you want to! I got to work making a healthy, filling breakfast to replenish my body with both carbs AND protein. This is something else I’m learning about foods and eating more to lose more: it’s not only WHAT you eat, it’s also WHEN you eat it. Post workout snacks and meals are key in building muscle and fueling your body. With that being said, check out this awesome spread:

20120427-165136.jpg

2 eggs scrambled, fresh strawberries, and a slice of whole wheat toast topped with a tablespoon of peanut butter and half of a banana (I ate the first half before my workout). Oh, and coffee :) It was delicious, and even better on the balcony staring out at the ocean. Paradise.

After breakfast, my mom and I went on a 45 minute walk on the beach. It’s amazing how sand can turn an innocent walk into an intense calf/hamstring workout! Loved it.

The rest of my day looked a little like this:

20120427-165617.jpg

Ahhhh. Now off to shower and get ready for a yummy dinner here in town! I’m fairly hungry, since lunch was pretty nonexistent. Mom and I opted to snack on pretzels and baked kettle chips in lieu of a big meal, which is nice when you’re spending the day in a bikini!

Also, my last thought for now: it’s never fun to hear the words “yikes Mel, looks like you missed a spot” when you come inside after a long day in the sun. I have some crazy awesome tan lines to even out tomorrow!

What are some of your favorite vacation workouts?

Talk to you soon!
-Melissa

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on ““You missed a spot”

  1. Kit-Kat says:

    I love to go hiking if there are hiking trails readily available. Otherwise, a nice, long run in the early morning is my go-to! Either on the pavement, trail, or tready-weddy :-)

  2. Meg says:

    I envy where you live! and your gorgeous border photo. I want to get married.

  3. I totally feel like I’m at a VERY slow trot when I’m at 4.5. I usually manage to walk, right up to about 4.2 — that’s the tipping point before jogging for me. I love taking nice long walks at the beach – great for your calves…

  4. […] 2 has been just as relaxing and wonderful as Day 1 was here in Perdido Key. My day started with an intense treadmill workout that incorporated a few […]

  5. […] The rest of my day consisted of a pre-workout snack of a banana and peanut butter, followed by a killer weights workout at boot camp. Love, love, love weights days! Please take a look at what my slightly OCD very organized husband did to my trunk while I was in Florida: […]

Drop a line!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

