Ole!

Happy Cinco de Mayo!! After a successful morning boot camp session, I’m off to spend the day at the pool with friends, but I thought I’d leave you guys with some yummy treats to make today (or ANY day, in my opinion!)

Last night, hubs and I had our own “Quatro de Mayo” party to celebrate him landing a huge job at work. He’s been at his company almost a year and is already kicking butt and taking names…I couldn’t be more proud of him! After I got the good news, I went straight to Whole Foods to pick up items to make some of his favorite things: guacamole, homemade tortilla chips, and chicken pizza. I also grabbed a 6 pack of one of his favorite beers, Shock Top.

shock

Now, I am NOT a beer drinker. I’ve tried to be, trust me. Drinking beer is not only cheaper than most other alcohol options, it’s also available pretty much everywhere. Plus, girls who drink beer are super cool in my book. Sadly, despite the apparent perks, I just can’t bring myself to drink it. So I whipped up my own beverage in the form of a frozen Strawberry Daiquiri!


Simple Strawberry Daiquiri for One

3-4 oz of frozen strawberries

1 3/4 oz of Sweet & Sour Mix

1 1/2 oz (or 2, if you’re feeling it!) of rum

1/2 TBS of sugar (I used unsweetened strawberries, so I found that this added a slight touch of sweetness to the whole drink)

Handful of ice cubes

Directions: Throw it all into a blender, blend until smooth, then enjoy Smile

Following our drinks, I put together a quick appetizer of DIY Tortilla chips and guacamole (for two!). Guacamole recipes always come in such large quantities, but when you’re only making it for two, and leftover guac is nearly impossible to keep fresh, it’s nice to have a quick and easy recipe available to throw a small batch together.

Date Night Guacamole for Two



1 large avocado (I prefer Hass) halved, seeded, and peeled

1 clove of garlic, minced

1/4 cup of chopped onion

1/2 of a lime, juiced

1 small Roma tomato

Scant 1/4 tsp salt

Optional: 1/8 tsp cayenne, 1/8 tsp ground cumin, cilantro

Directions:  In a medium bowl, place the avocado pulp and the lime juice and mash together (I used a masher similar to what is used for potatoes). Add in salt, mash until blended. Fold in onions, tomatoes, and garlic. Taste it and season to your liking; I always add a little more lime and salt at the end.

Yum, guacamole is definitely one of my favorite foods. When it comes to what to eat with it, I always try to make my own tortilla chips. Packaged brands always tend to overdo it on salt, processing, etc., and can get pretty pricey for just two people. Plus, if you buy a whole bag for one occasion, then you’re stuck with that bag for a loooong time…and it will sit there, mocking you, until you eat the entire bag while sitting on the couch watching BravoTV reruns (not that this has happened to me before or anything). Try this easy, easy “recipe” for tortilla chips (if you can even call it a recipe, it’s so simple)!

DIY Tortilla Chips

Corn tortillas (I prefer La Tortilla Factory yellow corn tortillas) – for this occasion I used 2

Olive oil (I used my Misto Gourmet Olive Oil Sprayer…love this thing!)

Directions: Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut the tortillas into desired since/shape:

Spread them out on a baking sheet, and mist on both sides with olive oil (or Olive Oil cooking spray if you have that):

Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes…it’s important to keep an eye on these to make sure that you don’t overcook them (i.e. burn them). Everyone’s oven is a little different! Mine came out looking like this:



Yummm, warm tortilla chips and fresh guacamole!!

I’ll save the Chicken Pizza recipe for a rainy day…or maybe just for tomorrow :)

Hope you all have a wonderful Cinco de Mayo, or even just a wonderful Saturday!

What are some of your favorite Mexican foods?

Talk to you soon!

-Melissa

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Ole!

  1. What a great little collection of recipes — an instant party! Thanks for sharing :)

  2. [...] tasty lunch: a bowlful of my Chicken Taco Stew (recipe tomorrow!), topped with some avocado and homemade tortilla chips! I got a little distracted while baking my chips (thanks to this blog!), so they were more on the [...]

  3. [...] in some plain Greek yogurt sometimes to give it a more creamy texture. Other options would be to bake up your own tortilla chips to serve with it, or top yummy brown rice with the mixture. The possibilities are [...]

Drop a line!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

