DIY Taco Seasoning

JUST SAY NO!!

…to packaged seasonings, that is!

The first time I made my own taco seasoning, I was actually annoyed with myself. Why hadn’t I done this sooner? The ingredients make plenty, it’s way cheaper than buying taco seasoning in the package, and it cuts WAY down on the sodium in your dishes. Win, win…win (subtle reference from The Office, anyone?).

Helpful hint, buy the below ingredients in bulk at your local Whole Foods, Central Market, or Trader Joes (or maybe you’re super lucky, and your neighborhood Kroger or Publix carries bulk spices as well!). It saves money since you aren’t paying for a brand or packaging, plus it’s easier to control how much you’re buying.

Anywho, without further ado, please read the below recipe, create, and repeat.

DIY Taco Seasoning:

1/2 cup chili powder
1/4 cup onion powder
1/8 cup ground cumin
1 tbs garlic powder
1 tbs paprika
1 tbs sea salt

Put ingredients into a cute mason jar and shake, shake, shake! I say mason jars (or any jar, for that matter) because the seasoning can seep into plastic containers and stain them, plus I feel like glass jars just hold the freshness better. So trust me, glass jars :) Plus, they’re cute!

***FYI: 3-4 heaping tablespoons of this will equal your average packet of taco seasoning!***

IMG_2993IMG_2994IMG_2995

*Just a note, the ingredients above make MUCH more than what is pictured in my jar. I just use it ALL of the time!

These make great little gifts/stocking stuffers/etc. I poured some of the seasoning into tiny jars for my mom, sister in law, and mother in law, and they loved them!

So, as I said before…just say no! And make your own seasoning today…like, now!

Smile

What are some of your favorite DIY seasonings or spice mixes?

Talk to you soon!

-Melissa

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “DIY Taco Seasoning

  1. LOVE this! You literally just saved my life! Haha. I have all those ingredients at home. Now I need to see what other DIY seasonings I can make :)

  2. Kyla says:

    This sounds amazing! I can’t wait to try it. I just have a question about cooking with it.. Do you just add a bit of water and seasoning to the meat while it’s cooking, the same as you would with an taco kit?

  3. […] Several tbs (3-4) of homemade taco seasoning […]

Drop a line!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

