Heavy Legs + A New Gym

As I mentioned before, I recently joined a new gym, which is kind of a big deal for me. I haven’t been to a gym in over a year; I’ve stuck to my outdoor boot camp in order to get my workouts in. However, I realized that I missed doing heavy lifting workouts. My boot camp has 3 weight days a week, but we do so many reps within the hour that I only use one set of 12’s and that’s it. I missed squats and leg presses with the big kid weights!

Don’t get me wrong, I am by no means a weight lifting pro. If anything, I’m a beginner. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy lifting, or aspire to be better at it. So on my first day back at the gym, I eased into things with a fairly basic but VERY effective leg workout.  I based it loosely around Jamie Eason’s Live Fit Trainer, taking out some of her exercises and replacing them with a few of my favorites (such as sit down squats and Bulgarian lunges!).

workout5.25

See these links for some of the lesser-known exercises:

Believe you me, I am FEELING this one today (2 days later!). Walking up the stairs (and let’s be honest, sitting on the toilet) is killing me. So I guess this means that it worked!

I suckered my husband into going with me on my first day at the new gym. I’m not sure why I get so anxious when it comes to gyms! I’m intimidated or something, I suppose. Either way, I’m over it now thanks to my dragging him with me, and I’m really enjoying the place. I will have to come up with a schedule that fits in both the gym and my boot camps!

Do you incorporate heavy lifting into your weekly workout schedule? How many days a week do you lift?

Talk to you soon!

-Melissa

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Heavy Legs + A New Gym

  1. cierra neeley says:

    Hi, i just wanted to say your doing great! Im currently finishing up the last 60 days of Insanity and let me tell you how sore you can get! Have you ever tried a recovery formula for after your workouts? If you visit teambeachbody.com and look up P90x Results and Recovery Formula you will find it! Its AMAZING! It completely takes away my soreness and tastes like a 50/50 ice cream bar! Its pricey but WORTH EVERY PENNY! Keep up the hard work! You can find my blog at cierraslifeinsweetbliss@blogspot.com.

  2. I try to incorporate heavy lifting at least three days, if not more, every week! I feel so accomplished when I do! Plus I LOVE being sore!

Drop a line!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

