Quinoa and other newfound foods…

I am what you might call a dreamer. Just ask the husband, because it drives Mr. Practical CRAZY! I dream in all aspects of my life…I dream of vacations, of living somewhere new and exciting, of fun new jobs (despite loving the one I have, but hey, that’s the crutch of being a dreamer!). I even dream of being a better version of myself…of being SUPER in shape, Jamie Eason-style, or of being an amazing cook like The Pioneer Woman (love her!).

Lately, I have had some high hopes of cooking these elaborate, complicated meals full of exotic ingredients, showering in the praises from my husband and friends.

Yeah, right.

I have, however, started to branch out on ingredients. Recently I fell in love with quinoa (I know, I know, I’m a little behind the curve here). I love the texture of quinoa, and the added protein is definitely a plus! Check out my yummy lunch I had today featuring said quinoa:

20120501-084552.jpg

1/2 cup of quinoa (cooked in chicken broth), 4 oz of grilled chicken, and a cup or so of sauteed veggies! Deeeelish, and not to mention VERY filling.

I also bought some chia seeds at Whole Foods today. I keep seeing them all over blogs/magazines/etc, so I thought I’d give them a shot. I am a huge fan of Peanut Butter Fingers, and she uses chia seeds in all kinds of different recipes. Maybe I’ll give it a try tomorrow and let you know how it goes.

What are some other “new” foods out there that I should try?

Talk to you soon!

-Melissa

 

Tagged ,

One thought on “Quinoa and other newfound foods…

  1. […] up for a majority of the morning. Naturally, I forgot to add the chia seeds I talked about in the last post – typical. It was early. Maybe tomorrow I’ll remember to give them a shot. Tonight […]

Drop a line!

