Eating on the road

So, as I mentioned before, road trips are my favorite. I love the open road, spending time with people I care about, and talking about anything and everything under the sun. Oh, and singing. Lots of singing.

20120426-202309.jpg

But it can be stressful to eat healthy on the road. Endless fast food chains, convenience stores, and lack of readily available water (or bathrooms) can really cramp your style. Especially the water part…have you ever tried to drink the recommended amount of water while on the road?!? Talk about frequent pitstops!

I had little notice, but I was able to somewhat prepare for the trip with a few items from my pantry. One Nalgene bottle full of water, two protein bars, and a bag of (not the healthiest but surely the yummiest) trail mix. All the makings of good intentions, right?

20120426-203016.jpg

Yum. Note the already eaten Luna bar in the background. Unfortunately, preparing didn’t stop THIS from happening:

20120426-203113.jpg

Oops?

And yes, it was delicious, thanks for asking 🙂

Honestly, the best part of a vacation is relaxing, and eating a honey butter biscuit for breakfast and drinking one of these bad boys for dinner is OKAY!

20120501-084854.jpg

As I’m beginning to realize, calories aren’t exactly my enemy anymore. My body can handle much, much more than I’ve been feeding it, and one or two days of indulgence won’t do anything but maybe add a pound or two of water weight. Super simple to work off when you get home! Just make sure that your indulgences aren’t at every meal, and please please please make sure that it’s WORTH IT. For goodness sakes, try not to waste your time “indulging” in stuff that doesn’t even taste that good to begin with (we’ve all been there: hello office candy, movie popcorn, and stale Cheetos).

I also think it’s important to stay active while you’re on vacation, and this will help combat any bloating or extra calories you may incur on a trip. Get up 30-45 minutes earlier and go walk on the beach, or wander down to your hotels fitness center and see what they have to offer. Tomorrow I’ll be doing just that…I’ll be sure to keep you guys posted 🙂

Tell me, what are some ways that you all try to stay fit and healthy on vacation, while still enjoying yourself?

Talk you soon!
-Melissa

 

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Eating on the road

  1. It is HARD to eat healthy on the road! I’m always awkwardly trying to pack stuff like yogurt, and then it doesn’t stay cold, and I start getting worried that I’m going to get food poisoning or something…

    hahaha I swear I’m not THAT bad to travel with!

    • Haha I totally understand!! It’s so hard to pack healthy stuff. Plus you don’t wanna be THAT girl who has her own cooler and makes everyone else feel bad for eating chips and canned bean dip (although they will probably feel bad enough on their own shortly after…) I say kudos to even trying!!

Drop a line!

