Mullet Toss

Day 2 has been just as relaxing and wonderful as Day 1 was here in Perdido Key. My day started with an intense treadmill workout that incorporated a few minutes of running and some fast paced sprints. It’s a great workout if, like me, running isn’t exactly your strong suit. Also, it eases you into the sprints, which is nice if maybe you aren’t really feeling a workout but forced yourself to the gym anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

20120428-175442.jpg

Not sure if it was the workout, the Florida humidity, or a combination of both, but DANG was I sweating towards the end of this!! It felt great. To be honest, I was never much of a workout-while-on-vacation kind of girl, but after my rude body fat awakening, I figured the LAST thing I want to do right now is make that 26.2% any higher. I was pleasantly surprised to find how much I truly enjoy getting up and working out before a relaxing day at the beach. I feel like I accomplished something, and plus I am a MILLION times more confident in a bikini after burning some cals on the treadmill!

After my workout, I took a quick shower and whipped up the same delicious breakfast I had yesterday…but with cheesy eggs instead of regular ๐Ÿ™‚ And, once again, I ate breakfast on our balcony watching the waves. Don’t make me leave!!

20120428-180126.jpg

After breakfast, mom and I had 2 options to choose from on what to do today. Option A) repeat day 1 by relaxing on the beach and reading good books. Option B) partake in the 28th Annual Mullet Toss. Yup, you read that correctly. Apparently, my mother chose the weekend where people from all over Florida and Alabama come together at the Florida/Alabama state line and toss mullets (fish, not haircuts unfortunately) across. We were told by the friendly cashier at the local gas station that it’s the “largest beach party in the world,” which made me wonder if they’d ever seen South Padre during Spring Break. Yikes.

Any who, naturally we were gung-ho about Option B, until we started the drive over. The line of cars HAD to of been 2 miles long, and it was not moving. Sadly, we bid an all-too-early farewell to the 2012 Mullet Toss, and headed back to our peaceful, quiet beach for Option A. Can’t say I’m all that mad about it ๐Ÿ™‚ I mean, heck, I got proposed to!

20120428-181356.jpg

Haha not really, but how cute is that?!? And check out this pretty awesome seashell I found when I ventured out to sea:

20120428-181450.jpg

It’s the little things ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, while we were toying with the idea of tossing mullets, my mom stumbled across this little gem of a snack for me at the gas station:

20120428-181558.jpg

The bag was HUGE, and only 220 calories in the whole thing! Plus 4 grams of fiber, 4 grams of protein, and 28 grams of sugar yummy ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m sad that this is our last day, but excited to get back to the hubs. I sure do miss him! Tomorrow I’ll share some more great vacation/beach/anytime workouts that I have up my sleeve.

Until then, have any of you ever heard of the Mullet Toss? Or does your hometown have an odd festival of it’s own?

Talk to you soon!
-Melissa

Tagged , , , ,

Drop a line!

