Viva Las Vegas! Day One

Hello, world! I’m back from a wonderful trip to Las Vegas with the husband. Actually, I’m home sick today from work…some sort of sore throat/sinus crud. Loved all the texts from coworkers asking me if it was a sore throat or a massive Vegas hangover πŸ™‚ I’m truly ill, I assure you!

We had such a good time on our vacation. Vegas has so much to offer other than gambling/drinking/clubbing (although those things are fun, too!). The shows, the FOOD, the hotels, the lights. Everywhere we looked there was something new to see and do. We stayed at Caesar’s Palace because we found a great deal on their website. The only other time I’ve ever been to Vegas was for work, and I stayed in a luxury suite at the Cosmopolitan hotel. If you haven’t seen the Cosmo, TRUST ME, it is out of this world and over-the-top nice. So I was a little apprehensive about staying at Caesar’s because I knew it was older than a lot of the hotels on the strip. It was in a great location though, and for Vegas that is VERY important!

So needless to say, Preston and I were pretty excited about our trip once we started researching more about the hotel and things to do in Vegas. Since my only trip was work-related, and Preston had never been, there was a LOT that we wanted to see and do.

About to board the plane! Preston is SUPER excited πŸ™‚

When we finally made it to our hotel, I realized I was SO wrong about Caesars! The hotel was gorgeous…the attention to detail was ridiculous. It had so many elements straight out of Rome, from the design to the statues to the fountains everywhere!

Food-wise, our first Vegas meal was a quick one; we had time to kill before our room was ready, so we wandered over to the food court at Caesar’s to see what all it had to offer. Flying always makes me a little unsettled in the stomach area, so I decided to stick with a salad. Preston, however, was definitely in vacation mode and ordered a HEAPING pile of nachos.

My yummy custom-built salad

Preston’s instant bad decision πŸ™‚

Not gonna lie, I had a few nachos of my own…definitely good-not-great, and an underwhelming start to our vacation. Little did we know the kind of wonderful food we would be enjoying soon! We then headed over to the penny slots to see how our luck was looking. Honestly, we are both not big on gambling…in fact, it made us SUPER nervous. We spent the first day on the slot machines, played it safe, and had a great time!

Our first winnings…turned $1 into $3.80! Yeaaaah!

When our room was finally ready, we took a break from gambling to call up our bags and check out the room before exploring a little more. Despite our attempts at getting an upgrade (Preston is SHAMELESS about asking people for upgrades/discounts/free stuff. He thinks it’s a game; I think it’s mortifying), we had an average room with a not-so-stellar view of a parking lot AND the air conditioning units πŸ™‚

That night, it was time to get ready for our one-and-only show for the week: Phantom of the Opera. I know, I know…we should’ve gone to see a Cirque show. They were just SO expensive, and the Phantom tickets were such a good deal on Travelzoo earlier this month. I thought the Vegas production of Phantom was SPECTACULAR…the set was amazing, the music (as always) was amazing…I really, really enjoyed it. Preston, on the other hand….not so much. We now know that he is most definitely NOT a musical lover πŸ™‚ Oh well, newlywed lessons learned.

We left the show famished and ready for a good meal. Luckily, the show was in the Venetian hotel, so food options were aplenty. The Venetian is my favorite hotel in Las Vegas; if it wasn’t so darn expensive, we definitely would’ve stayed there. Check out the view of their Grand Canal Shoppes area; it looks JUST like something you’d see in Venice (trust me, I’ve been there :))

There are gondola rides and everything; it’s beautiful! After walking around and taking in the view, we found a yummy pizzeria called OTTO by chef Mario Batali. Holy moly, did it taste amazing. We split the pancetta and goat cheese pizza, and decided that we had to try the gelato sundae for dessert. That gelato was some of the BEST gelato I have ever had, and I’ve had it straight from the heart of Italy! Fairly certain that I will be dreaming of this gelato for many months to come.

At OTTO in the Venetian

The view during dinner

Best. Gelato. Ever.

Honestly, by this point, it was 11:30 Vegas time and 1:30 Dallas time and we were pooped. We rolled our full bellies to our hotel room and called it an early night, saving up as much energy as possible for the next day!

Day one was relatively healthy and active for me, which is normally not how I do vacations. I was all about enjoying myself, but not eating so much that I felt insecure and unhappy with my body. Plus, pool time was in order the next day, and I definitely wanted to feel good about myself then!

Have you ever been to Vegas? Where did you stay? What was the best thing you ate?

More to come soon!

-Melissa

Tagged , , , ,

Drop a line!

